X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbee looking for old bike

Hi,

I’m a french guy living in Mexico city;
    I have been riding for 4 years now which will be since my 20.

I started with a Yamaha SR125, surely one of the less flattering bike one this earth but a good toy to learn about the road, starting with crashing on the motorway after no more that a week.

I rode it for about a year then passed my driving licence and bought a Kawasaki W650, the look of the old Bonneville, but much more than the new one for it has a kick, it sound great, and the chicks are crazy about it !
    I sold it when leaving France for Mexico, a sad moment, but the guy who bought it made a café racer out of it and will take it to England in September… so it keeps rocking

I have now a Yamaha FZS600 fazer, and that is why I’m here today.
    I bought the shit when I arrived in Mexico,
    For sure, it’s a good bike that took me to great places down here, but I miss my twin, torque, vibrations… and even if I made it street style to make it look a bit better, it does not gave me the same smile as when riding the W. Then I want to change.

The bike I am looking for is a Yamaha XS650,
    At best, a type 447 or 1H1 witch are the roadster versions, commercialized from 76 to 78 if I am right, just before the custom version.
    I am planning a trip to California to come and buy one and then take it back to Mexico passing by Baja California and all the Pacific coast. I hope to be able to take two weeks at the end of September or early October.

Looking for the net, I haven’t seen much of then although I guess it should be possible to find one according to the number of chopper using this base; I hope you guys can help me with providing addresses of used bikes shops, riders who would sell one, or any piece of information that could help me in my quest;
    Thanks in advance, and I hope to see you soon one the road or in a pub!

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/mcy/